» Connecticut Expands Sexual Harassment Training to All Employees
July 9, 2019
Two-Hour Requirement Becomes Effective Oct. 1
Beginning Oct. 1, 2019, Connecticut employers with 3 or more employees must provide 2 hours of sexual harassment training to all employees. Employees hired after October 1 are required to receive the training within 6 months of hire. Previously, training was required only for supervisors working for employers with 50 or more employees.
The new law tasks the Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities with developing official training materials employers can use to satisfy this requirement.
Employers with fewer than 3 employees will need to provide this training to all supervisory employees by Oct. 1, 2020, and to all new supervisory employees within 6 months of assuming a supervisory position.
Employers will be required to provide periodic supplemental training on sexual harassment at least every 10 years.
The new law also contains a notice requirement.
Posted by Hallier Benefit Advisors in HR News Alerts