» Maine Passes Expansive Paid Employee Leave Law
August 15, 2019
New Law Becomes Effective Jan. 1, 2021
Enacted May 28, 2019, Maine’s earned employee leave law allows employees to earn paid leave that may be used for any reason. Effective Jan. 1, 2021, this law allows eligible employees to earn 1 hour of paid leave for every 40 hours worked, up to 40 hours per year.
The paid leave requirements apply only to employers with more than 10 employees. Employers with 10 or fewer employees and employers in seasonal industries are exempt. The law does not provide any carryover, employer notice, or posting requirements. However, the Maine Department of Labor is expected to adopt regulations that may contain additional requirements.
According to Maine Governor Janet Mills, this law will cover nearly 85% of Maine’s workforce.
Posted by Hallier Benefit Advisors in HR News Alerts